Unofficial Rules & Entry

Entry: Boats and participants competing in the Bermuda Billfish Blast July 3-7, Bermuda Big Game Classic July 9-13 or Sea Horse Anglers Club Billfish Tournament July 15-19 are eligible for the Bermuda Triple Crown Billfish Championship 2015. There is no additional entry fee to compete in the championship.

: All participants competing in the BTC championship must follow the rules governing each qualifying tournament. Boats earning points do not have to use the same participants/anglers at each event. The sum of all official points earned at each qualifying event will determine the total points awarded for the Championship. The boat with the highest total points will win the series. In the event of a tie the boat accumulating the points first will be the champion.

: Each qualifying event has the same scoring system for billfish. Boats receive 500 points for blue marlin releases and one point per pound for every blue marlin that meets or exceeds the minimum 500-pound weight. White marlin, spearfish and sailfish are worth 200 points. Boats weighing undersized blue marlin are penalized 500 points plus two points for every pound the fish is underweight. Points are accumulated during the three events with the high point boat, captain, mate and up to five anglers earning the championship.

 This is a boat championship with awards going to the boat with the highest point total. A total of up to seven championship rings and trophies will be awarded to the winners at the final leg of the tournament series. Only registered anglers, captains and mates who competed in the qualifying events are eligible for the awards. In addition, each BTC Champion will receive an incredible prize package provided by our generous sponsors, including the Bermuda Department of Tourism, The Fairmont Hamilton Princess, Bacardi, PW Marine, Geoffrey Smith, Aftco, Vanmark Jewelry, King Sailfish Mounts, Steve Goione, Miles Market, Argo Group, Ocean Blue Graphics, Release Marine, Garmin, Bonze Lures and both Marlin and Sport Fishing magazines. The champion boat captain, mate and five high point anglers will determine the recipients. Boats are not required to have the same team representative or anglers competing in each tournament.

Awards Presentation:
 The Bermuda Triple Crown Billfish champions will be crowned during the Sea Horse Anglers Club awards presentation July 19, 2015.


© 2015 Bonnier Corporation